RSS

We are a work in progess

09 Aug

Hey guys,

Isn’t it great to know that we are a work in progress? One of the most encouraging verses in Scripture has to be Phil. 1:6 which says, “For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus. NASU What an encouraging and powerful statement that the Apostle Paul made to the church at Philippi. When God saved us, He set us apart for His service and His glory. Paul tells the Philippian Church that God will perfect (complete) the work that He has begun.

I am so glad to have the promise of God that I am not complete yet, but He is going to complete me. Every time I stumble and every time I fall, Satan uses that as a means to discourage me from the truth in this promise. This discouragement is nothing more than Satan’s attempt to render me an ineffective witness for Jesus Christ. However, I can take joy in knowing that the temptations of Satan, while they appear to slow me down, will not prevent God from keeping His promise. I can take joy in trials, as James tells us we should, because I know it is through these trials that God is bringing me closer to Him. He is molding me and keeping this promise by continuing His work in me.

We are told, in the 2nd chapter of Philippians, to work out our own salvation. This means carry out your salvation until completion. In other words, live out your Christian life in a real and practical way. In our life, we have tremendous potential for Christ. Actively work that out. Give all of yourself to the work of Christ knowing that God will complete it in you.

I hope you will join me as I walk through Paul’s letter to the Philippian Church. There are many struggles in this life. Paul’s encouragement to the Philippians is an encouragement to us as well.

Serving Him,

Bro. Joey

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 9, 2011 in Christianity, Faith, Philippians

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment